Essay Contest
The George Price Centre for Peace and Development hosted an award evening for the winners of the Essay Competition which was organized in collaboration with the Belmopan Rotary Club on the occasion of Belize’s 25th year of Independence.

From a total of 70 entries, the following students were awarded prizes in their category:
Winners of Category Standard 1-3:
2nd place: Shania Carrillo – Compassion School, Yo Creek
1st place: Breannah Musa – Hummingbird Elementary, Belize City

Winners of Category Standard 4-6:
2nd place: Phaedra Mohammed-Ali – Burrell Boom Methodist School
1st place: Alexis Sanchez – United Evergreen Primary School, Belmopan

Winners of Category 1st and 2nd Form:
2nd place: Aracely Flores – Belmopan Comprehensive School
1st place: Gianina Novelo – Our Lady of Guadalupe High School, Bmp

During the award evening, the students had an opportunity to read out their essay before a captive audience and the cameras of PlusTV. They received certificates, gift packages from the sponsors of the event: The Belmopan City Council; The Art Box; The Angelus Press; The Book Centre and Daker’s Stationary and Book Store. In addition, the students are invited to participate in a Creative Workshop, conducted exclusively for them by UB professor Ethnelda Paulino and Mrs. Blanche Boles.